The communities feature is an optional add-on which you can stop using at any time. In order to stopped being charged for communities, you will need to remove all communities and make sure no others are created.
When you first open your organization, you are given a community by default, delete this to not be charged from the start.
📝 Note: Communities are a fixed price and are not prorated. This means, even if you close all of your communities halfway through a month, you will still be charged the fixed price of $10 at the end of that billing cycle.
In this article:
- Remove Communities from your organization
- Turn off your Community settings
Remove Communities from your organization
1. From your "Communities" tab, click Go to community.
2. Click Administer Community.
3. At the bottom of the settings page, you will see the option to "Delete Community". Click Delete.
4. Click Yes to confirm.
📝Note: This is permanent and cannot be undone.
You will need to do this for all communities you have open.
Turn off your community settings
There are options which allow you to add new students to your main community and to also create "alumni" communities when classes end. You will need to make sure these are turned off so no additional communities are created.
1. Go to Organization Settings.
2. Go down to Class Defaults.
3. Check No, for "add incoming students to your community".
4. Check No, for "after class ends, create a community for its students".
💡 Tip: If you have not changed this already, consider editing the closing email that students will receive. The default message mentions community groups which will not be available once you turn off the above options.